Rasheed Balogun MD, FACP, FASN, HP (ASCP)

Medical Director and Professor, University of Virginia Health System

Dr. Rasheed Abiodun Balogun is a tenured professor of medicine, professor of pathology and Harrison Distinguished Teaching Professor of Nephrology at University of Virginia. He serves as regional medical director of the University of Virginia’s 12 ambulatory (out-patient) dialysis units across a 120-mile radius in Central and Southern Virginia as well as medical director of two in-patient Hemodialysis units and the Extracorporeal Therapies (Apheresis) Program at the University of Virginia. He received his medical training at University of Ibadan, Nigeria, and University of Connecticut, USA.

Dr. Balogun is a nephrologist with advanced expertise in extracorporeal therapies, the use of highly specialized techniques for blood detoxification or medical purification. His clinical and research interests include providing care for patients focusing on prevention and treatment of acute and chronic kidney disease and using extracorporeal therapies like therapeutic apheresis to treat renal, neurological, and hematological disorders.

Dr. Balogun is a fellow of the American College of Physicians, the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria, American Society of Nephrology, and the National Kidney Foundation (USA). He created and directs the Therapeutic Apheresis Academy, an annual multidisciplinary national conference. He served on the executive committee of the University of Virginia's faculty senate and was the foundation student affairs dean of the Walter Reed College at University of Virginia. He also serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Clinical Apheresis and previously the ASAIO Journal. He served as a member of the board of directors of the American Society for Apheresis and as a member of the committee that writes “Guidelines on the Use of Therapeutic Apheresis in Clinical Practice”. Additionally, he serves on the Diversity and Inclusion committee of the American Society of Nephrology, chairs the Nephrology subsection, and is past chair of the Internal Medicine Section of the National Medical Association (USA).