Mitchell Rosner MD, MACP

Professor, University of Virginia School of Medicine

Dr. Mitchell Rosner's clinical practice focus is the medical care of patients with all forms of kidney disease - from acute kidney injury to end-stage kidney disease. His special interest in patients with polycystic kidney disease led Dr. Rosner to found the first regional clinic to specifically address the clinical management of these patients. He also directs the home dialysis program at the University of Virginia and has pioneered the use of telemedicine and remote monitoring for this patients. He has been continuously named to various "Best Doctors" lists since 2008. Dr. Rosner has a passion for education and has been honored with numerous awards, including the All-University of Virginia Award for Education and the Master Educator Award from the University of Virginia School of Medicine. He has also been recognized by the United States Department of State for development of joint collaborative education and research efforts between the University of Virginia and San Bortolo Hospital (Vicenza, Italy) and the University of Padova (Padua, Italy). Dr. Rosner's research interests include the pathogenesis and management of disorders of sodium and water balance, the treatment of polycystic kidney disease, quality improvement in peritoneal dialysis, and the development of novel therapeutics for acute kidney injury. Dr. Rosner has published over 200 research and review articles in peer-reviewed medical journals, such as the New England Journal of Medicine. He serves on the editorial boards of numerous journals and is the editor-at-large for the Clinical Journal of the American Society of Nephrology. Dr. Rosner has chaired the 2019 annual meeting of the American Society of Nephrology and the 2020 annual meeting of the National Kidney Foundation. In 2019, he was awarded one of the highest honors in nephrology, the Robert Narins Award for lifetime contributions in nephrology by the American Society of Nephrology. He was also awarded the 2019 International Vicenza Award for his contributions to critical care nephrology.